Touted as the Twenty20 of golf, Blitz is a fast-paced competition that comprises four rounds in half a day, combined with a carnival-type atmosphere.

The latest initiative, backed by the PGA of Australia, will see both men and women compete against each other for the same total prize pool of $150,000 – an increase on last year’s pool of $100,000.

Blitz Golf Director Simon Zybek is thrilled to bring this opportunity to both Australian golf and sport as a whole.

“Our competition in 2020 will be the first time we see this level of gender equality in Australian sport,” Zybek said.

“We are excited that we can provide this opportunity for both men and women to go head to head, and for golf to be leading the way.”

Blitz Golf will also offer a rare opportunity for Australian golf couples Jarryd Felton and Hannah Green; and Deyen Lawson and Ali Orchard, to compete against each other for the same prize purse.

Hannah Green is relishing at the opportunity to not only take on the men, but also her partner Jarryd Felton.

“Blitz Golf is such a fun format and to have the opportunity to play some of the events while I’m home in Australia is a nice, refreshing change to the traditional events,” Green said.

“But to play against the men in the same field for the same money is a whole new level and I’m really excited this change is happening in 2020.”

Green is excited to take on the men and her partner, Jarryd Felton. PHOTO: Supplied.

Meanwhile, World No.188 Dimi Papadatos is set to join the field confirming his spot for the 2020 series.

“Coming home and competing on home soil is always a highlight, as well as the opportunity to take on some of Australia’s best golfers in this fun form of golf,” Papadatos said.

“Even better is the fact that we will be making a first in Australian sport by providing the opportunity for men and women to compete against each other for the same prize purse.”

Joining Felton, Green and Papadatos and already confirmed for the 2020 series are leading Australian golfers Matt Millar, Matt Griffin, Zach Murray, Daniel Gale, Jack Wilson, Whitney Hillier, Stephanie Na and Rebecca Artis.

While a number of celebrities and media identities have joined the action in previous years, including retired AFL player Brendon Goddard, professional golfer Ian Baker-Finch, NBL player Nathan Sobey, former Australian cricket star Greg Blewett and, former cricketer and media identity Theo Doropolous.

The week-long festivities will see the tournament series kicking off on Sunday January 5, 2020 at Curlewis Golf Club in Geelong (Victoria) before heading north to the newest event on the schedule, Links Hope Island Golf Club (Gold Coast, Queensland) on Friday January 10, 2020 – and rounding out at Glenelg Golf Club (Adelaide, South Australia) on Sunday January 12, 2020.

Competitors and spectators can expect a rapid-fire format of golf with the excitement of a 72-hole tournament in only 18 holes across one afternoon before a final shootout to determine the winner.