DEFENDING CHAMPION: Perth product Hannah Green reached 21-under-par 267 here last year, defeating American young gun Yealimi Noh by one shot.

COURSE: Columbia Edgewater Country Club was founded in 1925 and its parkland course, which will play 5,923 metres (par-72) this week, was designed by A.V. Macan. The layout features relatively narrow holes and is nestled between the Columbia River and Portland International Airport.

PRIZEMONEY: US$1,750,000.

RELATED: So-called expert golf tips for this week


Hannah Green equaled the tournament scoring record here last year when she bested Yealimi Noh to capture her second LPGA Tour title.

The West Aussie had broken her maiden two months earlier at the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, becoming the first Australian major winner since Karrie Webb claimed her seventh major title at the Kraft Nabisco Championship (ANA Inspiration) in 2007.

Green finished T62nd at Mission Hills last week after three disappointing rounds followed an opening three-under 69. Don’t worry about her recent form, though, because the 23-year-old won both of her LPGA Tour titles off the back of missed cuts.

RIGHT: Green recorded her second victory of the season when she won at Columbia Edgewater CC last year. PHOTO: Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images.

World No.2 Nelly Korda is set to make her Portland Classic debut this week and arrives in terrific form, having shared runner-up honours with Brooke Henderson at the ANA Inspiration last week.

The 22-year-old American has played progressively better since the Tour returned from its coronavirus hiatus, posting shares of 40th, 38th, 14th, 3rd and 2nd from six starts.

Korda will be the highest-ranked player in the field this week in the continued absence of South Korean Jin Young Ko and will expect to add to her 27 career top-10s. If she plays as well as she did last week, expect her to add to her three career victories, too.

72-HOLE RECORD: Hannah Green and Brooke Henderson both reached 21-under-par 267 when they won their respective titles in 2019 and 2015.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: Hannah Green (2019).

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Hannah Green, Sarah Kemp, Minjee Lee, Su Oh and Sarah Jane Smith.

Round 1: Friday (Fox Sports 505 LIVE 4am – 7am)
Round 2: Saturday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 9am – 11:30am)
Round 3: Sunday (Fox Sports 505 LIVE 4am – 7am)
Round 4: Monday (Fox Sports 506 LIVE 6am – 7:30am)
*AEST, check local guides