DEFENDING CHAMPION: Anirban Lahiri won the Malaysian Open the last time it was played in 2015. The Indian defeated Bernd Wiesberger with a 16-under total.

COURSE: Kota Permai Golf & Country Club welcomes the Malaysian Open for the second time this week. Opened in 1998, the course located less than 30 minutes drive from central Kuala Lumpur was designed by Australian Ross Watson.

Originally the site of an oil palm plantation, little earthmoving work was required to build the course featuring water on nine holes and slight elevation changes that measures just under 7,000 yards and will play to a par of 72 this week.

PRIZEMONEY: US$1,000,000.


A disappointing weekend meant Victorian Ben Eccles fell out of the race for the New Zealand Open, but he will have taken plenty from last week. Eccles opened with a 65 in Queenstown, where he achieved a second straight top-25 finish.

RIGHT: India's Anirban Lahiri claimed the title the last time the Malaysian Open was contested in 2015. PHOTO: Ian Walton/Getty Images.

After a T51 and three straigh missed cuts following his Hong Kong Open win, Wade Ormsby returned to form last week and is one to keep an eye on in Malaysia. The South Australian finished T7 in New Zealand and isn't short on experience in this week's host country, including a T11 the last time this event was staged in 2015.

Zimbabwean Benjamin Follett-Smith is worth keeping an eye on to see which version of his game he is able to bring in his second Asian Tour start in as many weeks after winning the circuit's qualifying school two weeks ago. Follett-Smith was extremely impressive on his way to securing his card for 2020 at the final stage of Tour school, but beyond that performance he has missed his last 13 straight cuts.

72-HOLE RECORD: Arjun Atwal set the tournament scoring record in 2003 with his 260 shots (24-under) over four rounds.

RECENT AUSSIE WINNERS: Terry Gale (1987, 1985 & 1983), Stewart Ginn (1986 & 1977), Brian Jones (1978), Graham Marsh (1975 & 1974), Bill Dunk (1963) and Frank Phillips (1962).

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Adam Blyth, Andrew Dodt, Ben Eccles, Lawri Flynn (a), Daniel Fox, Marcus Fraser, Will Heffernan, Jake Higginbottom, Wade Ormsby, Terry Pilkadaris, Travis Smyth, Scott Strange and Josh Younger.

Round 1: Thursday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 5pm – 9pm)
Round 2: Friday (Fox Sports 506 LIVE 5pm – 9:05pm)
Round 3 & Round 4: Currently not scheduled.
*AEDT, check local guides