The Solheim Cup in August resulted in an historic win in the United States for the European team.

A lengthy ruling occurred in the Stacy Lewis/Lexi Thompson (USA) against Suzann Pettersen/Carlota Ciganda (Europe) match on the opening day of the Cup. Playing the 15th hole, Ciganda hit her second shot towards a lateral water hazard. A player may proceed under the water hazard Rule (Rule 26-1) when it is “known or virtually certain” that the ball is in the water hazard; if it is not “known or virtually certain” then the ball is lost, and the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.

To determine whether it is “known or virtually certain”, evidence can be obtained from many sources; for example, players, caddies, spectators and even TV. Other factors that can be looked at include the grass height, the proximity of any trees and bushes and the topography of the course, i.e. can the ball be anywhere else apart from the water hazard?

It was clear that Ciganda’s ball was in the water hazard but she continued to look for her ball, probably in the hope of finding it in a playable position thus saving her from having to proceed under Rule 26-1 and incurring a one stroke penalty in the process. She found her ball just before the five-minute search period expired and decided to proceed under Rule 26-1.

* To read more about this ruling and the options of Rule 26-1, get the October issue of Golf Australia. In the meantime, learn more about the rules surrounding Lateral Water Hazards with with this video.