DEFENDING CHAMPION: Max Homa shot 15-under-par 269 in 2019 to defeat his American compatriot Joel Dahmen by three shots and claim his maiden PGA Tour title.

COURSE: The course at Quail Hollow Club opened in 1961 and was originally designed by George W. Cobb. It has been modified or renovated by Arnold Palmer (1985) and Tom Fazio (1997, 2003 & 2016) and is set to welcome the Presidents Cup next year. The 6,950-metre par-71 features a challenging three-hole stretch from holes 16-18 dubbed the ‘Green Mile’.

PRIZEMONEY: US$8,100,000.

RELATED: So-called expert golf tips for this week


Jason Day won this event in 2018 and has never finished outside the top-25 from five competitive appearances at Quail Hollow, including his share of ninth place in the US PGA Championship in 2017.

Outside of his victory, Day has recorded shares of 22nd (2010), ninth (2012) and 24th (2019) at the Wells Fargo Championship and, despite his poor form of late, should arrive in Charlotte feeling confident about his chances.

The 12-time PGA Tour winner hasn’t teed it up since his disappointing Masters campaign – where he shot rounds of 77 and 76 to miss the cut – and hasn’t won an official event since he claimed the Wells Fargo three years ago.

RIGHT: Max Homa claimed his maiden PGA Tour title at Quail Hollow when this event was last played in 2019. PHOTO: Streeter Lecka/Getty Images.

World No.2 Justin Thomas won the US PGA Championship here in 2017 and returns to Quail Hollow is terrific form, having claimed The Players at TPC Sawgrass in mid-March.

The 28-year-old followed his Players triumph with a share of 21st at the Masters and was T13th at the Valspar Championship last week.

Thomas currently leads the FedExCup standings and has the best scoring average on Tour, with 69.738 shots per round. He is also T2nd for Strokes Gained: Tee-To-Green and fourth for Strokes Gained: Total.

72-HOLE RECORD: Former World No.1 Rory McIlroy fired 21-under-par 267 in 2015 to defeat Patrick Rodgers and Webb Simpson by seven shots.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: Jason Day (2018).

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Cameron Davis, Jason Day, Lucas Herbert, Matt Jones and Cameron Percy.


Round 1: Friday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 4am – 8am)
Round 2: Saturday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 4am – 8am)
Round 3: Sunday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 3am – 8am)
Round 4: Monday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 3am – 8am)

*AEST, check local guides