DEFENDING CHAMPION: American Webb Simpson shot 22-under-par 262 last year to defeat Mexico’s Abraham Ancer by one shot.

COURSE: Harbour Town Golf Links at The Sea Pines Resort opened in 1969 and was designed by renowned course architect Pete Dye in consultation with Jack Nicklaus. It has become one of the PGA Tour’s favourite stops and has hosted this event for over 50 years. The 6,491-metre par-71 requires imagination and typically rewards shot-making, rather than brute strength.

PRIZEMONEY: US$7,700,000.

RELATED: So-called expert golf tips for this week


World No.1 Dustin Johnson is back in his home state after missing the cut during his disappointing title defence at the Masters.

The 36-year-old has one of the best mental games on the PGA Tour. But even he must be slightly concerned about his mini form slump, which has seen him go T54th, T48th, T28th and MC from his four most recent starts.

Johnson will be hoping he can right the ship on home soil and he obviously has the talent to do so. He has, however, never finished higher than T16th at this event (2018).

RIGHT: Simpson set a new tournament scoring record with his victory over Abraham Ancer at Harbour Town last year. PHOTO: Streeter Lecka/Getty Images.

Masters runner-up Will Zalatoris was incredibly impressive during his Augusta debut last week, falling one shot short of champion Hideki Matsuyama.

The 24-year-old is a prodigious talent and has already accumulated six top-10s from 15 starts this season, despite playing without full PGA Tour membership.

Zalatoris, who is currently 27th in the Official World Golf Ranking, was unable to earn his PGA Tour card last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic hiatus. (No PGA Tour cards were lost, meaning no cards could be awarded to Korn Ferry Tour players, either).

The Californian is already guaranteed to receive his PGA Tour card for next season, however he could fast track that process by winning an event.

Zalatoris is an elite ball-striker and will be someone to watch for many years to come.

72-HOLE RECORD: Defending champ Webb Simpson broke Brian Gay’s 2009 scoring record (20-under 264) with his 22-under-par 262 total last year.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: Aaron Baddeley (2006), Peter Lonard (2005), Greg Norman (1988) and Graham Marsh (1977).

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Cameron Davis and Cameron Smith.


Round 1: Friday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 5am – 8am)
Round 2: Saturday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 5am – 8am)
Round 3: Sunday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 3am – 8am)
Round 4: Monday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 3am – 8am)

*AEST, check local guides