DEFENDING CHAMPION: Former U.S. Amateur winner Viktor Hovland took home his first PGA Tour win at this event last year, his 268 total good enough for a one shot win over American Josh Teater. The Norwegian won’t defend his title this week, taking a place at the WGC-Workday Championship. 

COURSE: Designed by Tom Kite, the 36-hole Grand Reserve Golf Club welcomes the PGA Tour this week. The facility’s Championship course on the edge of the sea and overlooking a forest set to measure 7,506 yards.

PRIZEMONEY: US$3,000,000.


World No.59 Ian Poulter is the second highest ranked player in the field this week behind countryman Matt Wallace, and will be hoping for a win to lift him back inside the top-50, having dropped below the important number at the start of this year.

The Englishman finished in a share of 18th in his last start at the European Tour’s Saudi International, and having undergone a search for a new putter during his time away from competitive golf since, will be hoping to find his best form on the greens this week.

Poulter’s last win came in 2018, however, he showed promising signs late in 2020, including a T25 at The Masters, and given it is a Ryder Cup year, you can expect ‘The Postman’ to find his best golf at some stage in 2021.

RIGHT: Viktor Hovland claimed his maiden PGA Tour title in Puerto Rico last year, but won’t defend this week. PHOTO: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images.

Belgian Thomas Pieters tees it up in his first regular PGA Tour event since May 2019 this week.

Pieters has found his game in the past 18 months after dropping to outside the top-100 on the world ranking and teeing it up this week shows his commitment to playing more on the world’s top circuit. And the former Ryder Cup player arrives fresh off a T10 at the Saudi International, which followed some solid if not spectacular play early in the year on the European Tour.

72-HOLE RECORD: American Chesson Hadley set the scoring record in 2014, his 267 strokes (21-under) two better than New Zealander Danny Lee.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: No previous Australian winners.

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Robert Allenby, Aaron Baddeley, Greg Chalmers, Rhein Gibson, Mark Hensby, Cameron Percy and John Senden.

Round 1: Friday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 2am – 5am)
Round 2: Saturday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 2am – 5am)
Round 3: Sunday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 6:30am – 9am)
Round 4: Monday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 6am – 8:30am)
*AEDT, check local guides