DEFENDING CHAMPION: Englishman Steven Brown claimed his maiden European Tour title here last year, reaching 17-under-par 267 to defeat South African duo Brandon Stone and Justin Walters by one shot.

COURSE: Dom Pedro Victoria Golf Course opened in 2004 and was designed by the late, great Arnold Palmer. The 6,574-metre (par-71) parkland layout has hosted this event every year since 2007 and welcomed the World Cup of Golf in 2005.

PRIZEMONEY: €1,000,000.

RELATED: So-called expert golf tips for this week


Englishman Tommy Fleetwood will make his first start on the European Tour since the Middle Eastern swing back in January, when he finished T11th and T2nd in Dubai and Abu Dhabi, respectively.

The 29-year-old hasn’t been in the best form since returning from the PGA Tour’s coronavirus hiatus, finishing no better than T29th from five events, however he hasn’t missed any weekend action since July.

Fleetwood, currently ranked 16th in the world rankings, hasn’t played this event since 2016 and shared 12th place back in 2014.

RIGHT: Steven Brown won his first European Tour title at Dom Pedro Victoria Golf Course last year. PHOTO: Luke Walker/Getty Images.

South African-born Australian Jason Scrivener has been playing terrific golf since his season resumed in August, posting three consecutive top-20s during the UK swing, including his share of eighth at the Wales Open.

The 31-year-old missed the cut in difficult conditions at Valderrama last week, however he has never missed the cut here from four starts.

Scrivener finished T12th at Dom Pedro Victoria Golf Course when he last played the Portugal Masters in 2018. He finished T29th (2017) and T17th (2016) prior to that and averages 68.56 shots per round here.

72-HOLE RECORD: Inaugural champion Steve Webster reached 25-under-par 263 when he defeated Robert Karlsson by two shots in 2007. Andy Sullivan and Padraig Harrington, meanwhile, each shot 261s (23-under) when they won their respective titles in 2015 and 2016.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: Richard Green (2010).

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Maverick Antcliff, Jake McLeod, Zach Murray, Wade Ormsby and Jason Scrivener.

Round 1: Thursday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 8pm – 10pm and 11pm – 2am)
Round 2: Friday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 8pm – 10pm and 11pm – 2am)
Round 3: Saturday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 10:30pm – 3am)
Round 4: Sunday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 10:30pm – 3am)
*AEST, check local guides