DEFENDING CHAMPION: American Brendon Todd captured his third PGA Tour title at El Camaleon last year, reaching 20-under-par 264 and defeating Adam Long, Vaughn Taylor and Carlos Ortiz by one shot.

COURSE: El Camaleon Golf Club, located in the Playa del Carmen region in the Gulf of Mexico, opened in 2004 and was designed by our own Greg Norman. The course has hosted every edition of the Mayakoba Golf Classic since the event was created in 2007. El Camaleon weaves its way around mangroves and tropical jungle and is set against the ocean. The 6,436-metre par-71 features the iconic “cave bunker” on the 7th hole.

PRIZEMONEY: US$7,200,000.


Former World No.1 Justin Thomas makes his first visit to El Camaleon since sharing 23rd place in his first Mayakoba appearance back in 2015.

The American, who is currently third in the world rankings, broke par in all four rounds when he last played here and will return in terrific form, having finished fourth at Augusta National two weeks ago.

Thomas bagged shares of second, 12th, eighth and third from his four starts prior to the Masters and appears on track to claim his 14th PGA Tour title, sooner rather than later.

RIGHT: Brendon Todd won his third title on the PGA Tour at El Camaleon last year. PHOTO: Gregory Shamus/Getty Images.

Warrnambool’s favourite son Marc Leishman found some much needed form at the Masters, where he shared 13th place after a torrid run of results.

The World No.27 had missed five cuts and hadn’t finished higher than T28 in 12 starts prior to righting the ship at Augusta National.

Leishman last played this event in 2016 – when he finished T24 – and his only other appearance came back in 2009 when he missed the cut with rounds of 72 and 74.

72-HOLE RECORD: Matt Kuchar shot 22-under-par 262 when he defeated New Zealander Danny Lee by one shot in 2018.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: No previous Australian winners.

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Aaron Baddeley, Marc Leishman and Cameron Percy.

Round 1: Friday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 6am – 9am)
Round 2: Saturday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 6am – 9am)
Round 3: Sunday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 6am – 9am)
Round 4: Monday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 5am – 8am)
*AEDT, check local guides