DEFENDING CHAMPION: Scotland’s Marc Warren claimed the European/Challenge Tour event here in 2020. Warren’s 13-under total gave him a one-shot victory over German Marcel Schneider.

COURSE: Opened in 2002 and located near the Danube River, Diamond Country Club’s Diamond Course welcomes the European Tour once again this week.

Host of this event since 2010, the course was originally designed by Jeremy Pern with water in play across much of the 6,819-metre layout, local resident Miguel Angel Jimenez led a redesign almost 10 years ago due to the rising flood plain.

PRIZEMONEY: EUR 1,000,000.

RELATED: So-called expert golf tips for this week


Six-time European Tour winner Joost Luiten returns to a site of positive memories, having won this event in 2013 and after a good result in his last start in Kenya.

Luiten shared seventh in the Kenya Savannah Classic in late March after a solid if unspectacular run of results to start his 2021 campaign.

The Dutchman hasn’t won since 2018, but his ball striking has shown positive signs so far this year of returning to its exemplary best, and if the putter behaves this week, it would be no surprise to see Luiten in the thick of the action come Sunday afternoon.

RIGHT: Marc Warren claimed his fourth European Tour win here in 2020. PHOTO: Stuart Franklin/Getty Images.

Justin Harding has returned to almost inside the top-100 of the world rankings and will be hoping his recent burst of form in Kenya travels with him to Europe as he looks to continue his ascent.

Harding won the first week of the fortnight long Kenyan swing before fading to a share of 14th the following week, where fatigue may have been a factor. But the South African has had plenty of time to rest up for this week and will be full of confidence after his recent run.

When playing his best golf, the 35-year-old keeps the ball in play off the tee and holes plenty of putts, a combination that should suit Diamond Country Club, a venue he has never teed it up at, very well.

72-HOLE RECORD: Local favourite and three-time winner Markus Brier set the tournament scoring record in 2004. Brier reached 23-under (261) and won by eight shots from Lee Slattery and Roope Kakko.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: Richard Green (2007).

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Maverick Antcliff, Austin Bautista, Deyen Lawson and Jake McLeod.


Round 1: Thursday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 9:30pm – 2am)
Round 2: Friday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 9:30pm – 2:30am)
Round 3: Saturday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 10:30pm – 2am)
Round 4: Sunday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 10:30pm – 3am)

*AEST, check local guides