Reed was cleared of any wrongdoing by rules officials after taking a free drop for an embedded ball in the third round, but joint runner-up Schauffele was among those who sounded unimpressed with the situation.

"Obviously the talk amongst the boys isn't great, I guess, but he's protected by the (PGA) Tour and that's all that matters, I guess," Schauffele said at the time.

But speaking ahead of this week's Saudi International, Reed said he and Schauffele had exchanged text messages, adding: "I'm just going to leave it between him and I because really, it's one of those things that all you can do is try to do the right thing and from that point, move on.

"We're good. We're all good."

Saturday's incident was not the first rules controversy involving Reed, who was handed a two-shot penalty during the Hero World Challenge in December 2019 after being adjudged to have improved his lie.

"I'm just going to leave it between him and I ... We're good. We're all good." – Patrick Reed

Asked if he felt such incidents meant that he was viewed unfairly, Reed said: "I would say yes.

"Really what happened last week, I feel like it was handled the best way that we could, and it was obviously handled the correct way when talking with the rules officials and seeing it through the rules officials.

"I went through the processes that are in the rules. You put the tee down to mark the ball after asking the guys (playing partners) and declaring that you're going to check to see if the ball is embedded.

"So you put down the tee to check to see if the ball is embedded. And when it looked like it was, that's when you call over a rules official to see, not only have him just reconfirm but also to take a drop and figure out what the rules are.

Reed insists he is "not at all" bothered that his ninth PGA Tour title was overshadowed by the incident, nor that his tarnished image amongst his fellow professionals will make life difficult in team environments like the Ryder Cup and Presidents Cup.