DEFENDING CHAMPION: Former World No.1 Justin Thomas defeated New Zealander Danny Lee by two shots at Nine Bridges Golf Club last year, reaching 20-under-par 268.

COURSE: Shadow Creek opened in 1989 and was designed by world-renowned course architect Tom Fazio, who completed comprehensive renovations to the desert layout in 2008. The 6,883-metre (par-72) tree-lined course features eight water hazards and 74 bunkers. Its four par-3s (5th, 8th, 13th and 17th holes) should challenge the field, while the 296-metre 11th hole presents a risk-reward par-4.

PRIZEMONEY: US$9,750,000.

RELATED: So-called expert golf tips for this week


Tour sophomore Matthew Wolff has been putting on a ball-striking clinic since the Tour returned from its three-month coronavirus-enforced hiatus – and he arrives at Shadow Creek off the back of two runner-up finishes.

The 21-year-old hasn’t been able to add to his breakthrough title – which came at the 3M Open last July – but he has added plenty of top-five results to his collection. In addition to his work off the tee and into greens, Wolff has been putting the dots of it lately, making 64 of 65 putts inside 10 feet at TPC Summerlin last week.

RIGHT: Wolff finished T2 at TPC Summerlin last week after making a three-way play-off. PHOTO: Matthew Stockman/Getty Images.

The Californian is averaging 66.836 shots per round this season and is second in that regard behind Bryson DeChambeau.

World No.20 Abraham Ancer was impressive at TPC Summerlin last week, carding 20-under par to secure fourth place.

The 29-year-old American-born Mexican, who won the Australian Open by five shots at The Lakes in 2018, is still yet to break into the winner’s circle on the PGA Tour. But with results like last week and two runner-up finishes already in 2020 – which came at The American Express in January and the RBC Heritage in June – you would expect his maiden victory to be just around the corner.

72-HOLE RECORD: Brooks Koepka shot 21-under-par 267 when he defeated his American compatriot Gary Woodland by four shots in 2018.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: No previous Australian winners.

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Jason Day, Marc Leishman and Cameron Smith.

Round 1: Friday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 8am – 11am)
Round 2: Saturday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 8am – 11am)
Round 3: Sunday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 8am – 11am)
Round 4: Monday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 8am – 11am)
*AEDT, check local guides