DEFENDING CHAMPION: Paul Casey won the European Open when it was last held in 2019, defeating Robert MacIntyre, Bernd Ritthammer and Matthias Schwab by one shot.

COURSE: The Porsche North Course at Green Eagle Golf Courses opened in 2008 and is the European Tour’s longest layout, stretching to 6,898 metres (par-72). The course – dubbed the “Green Monster” – was remodeled by European Golf Design in 2016 and features the enormous 606-metre par-5 16th.

PRIZEMONEY: EUR 1,200,000.


Englishman Paul Casey captured his 14th (of 15) European Tour title at Green Eagle in 2019 and has an excellent track record at this event, recording six top-20s from seven appearances since 2001.

The World No.21 returns to Hamburg in terrific form, too, having shared fourth place at the US PGA Championship at Kiawah Island last month.

Casey, 43, has only missed one cut in his last 14 starts worldwide, stretching back to mid-October last year. Expect him to be right amongst it again this week.

RIGHT: Casey won this event at Green Eagle when it was last played in 2019. PHOTO: Tom Dulat/Getty Images.

South African-born West Australian Jason Scrivener broke into the world’s top 100 for the first time earlier this week, thanks to his share of third place in Denmark at the weekend.

Scrivener was also the highest-finishing Aussie at the US PGA Championship in May and began his year with a runner-up effort at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship, as he continues to search for his maiden European Tour title.

The 32-year-old, currently 99th in the Official World Golf Ranking, has moved up to seventh in the Race to Dubai ahead of his tournament debut at Green Eagle.

72-HOLE RECORD: Welsh wizard Ian Woosnam shot 20-under-par 260 at Sunningdale in 1988 when he defeated Nick Faldo by three shots. Per-Ulrik Johansson, meanwhile, successfully defended his title in 1997 when he reached 21-under, defeating Peter Baker by six shots.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: Mike Harwood (1991), Peter Senior (1990), Greg Norman (1986) and Graham Marsh (1981).

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Maverick Antcliff, Jarryd Felton, Scott Hend, Deyen Lawson, Min Woo Lee, Jake McLeod, Wade Ormsby, Dimi Papadatos and Jason Scrivener.


Round 1: Saturday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 10pm – 2am)
Round 2: Sunday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 8pm – 2am)
Round 3: Monday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 12am – 2am)

*AEST, check local guides