DEFENDING CHAMPION: South Korean Amy Yang shot 22-under-par 266 in 2019 to claim her third Honda LPGA Thailand title, defeating Spain’s Carlotta Ciganda and Australia’s Minjee Lee by one shot.

COURSE: Pattaya Old Course at Siam Country Club opened in 1971 and was originally designed by I. Izumi, before undergoing a redesign by Lee Schmidt and Brian Curley in 2007. The par-72 plays 5,992 metres, features 101 bunkers and is heavily tree-lined, so accuracy off the tee is paramount.

PRIZEMONEY: US$1,600,000.

RELATED: So-called expert golf tips for this week


Local hope Moriya Jutanugarn has gone close to securing her national title on numerous occasions – finishing T10th in 2019, T2nd in 2018 and seventh in 2017 – and returns to Siam Country Club in decent form.

The elder Jutanugarn sister has recorded back-to-back top-20s and will surely fancy her chances of adding to her lone LPGA Tour title, which she won in 2018 at the LA Open.

Despite her lack of silverware, the former Rookie of the Year (2013) is usually thereabouts and doesn’t tend to miss many cuts, banking over US$5 million in career earnings as she completes her ninth season on the US Tour.

RIGHT: Amy Yang won her third Honda LPGA Thailand title when the event was last played in 2019. PHOTO: Thananuwat Srirasant/Getty Images.

Perth product Minjee Lee is usually one of the most consistent players on the LPGA Tour – recording an impressive 53 top-10s since her rookie year in 2015 – but has struggled to find herself in contention lately.

The five-time Tour winner began 2021 well, securing a share of fifth at the Kia Classic in March, however she hasn’t finished better than T24th in four subsequent starts.

Nevertheless, Lee should be feeling confident heading to Siam Country Club, where she was runner-up in 2019, fourth in 2018 and T8th in 2016. The 24-year-old has never finished outside the top-25 here from four starts.

72-HOLE RECORD: American Jessica Korda reached 25-under-par 263 when she defeated Moriya Jutanugarn and Lexi Thompson by four shots in 2018.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: No previous Australian winners.

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Hannah Green, Katherine Kirk, Minjee Lee and Su Oh.


Round 1: Thursday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 1pm –6pm)
Round 2: Friday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 1:30pm –6:30pm)
Round 3: Saturday (Fox Sports 505 LIVE 1:30pm – 4:30pm)
Round 4: Sunday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 1:30pm – 3pm)

*AEST, check local guides