DEFENDING CHAMPION: Hudson Swafford shot 18-under-par 270 last year to defeat his American compatriot Tyler McCumber by one shot.

COURSE: The Tom Fazio-designed layout at Corales Golf Course opened in 2010 and offers stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. It features large, elevated greens and the closing three-hole stretch, dubbed the ‘Devil’s Elbow’, will often decide the outcome of an event.

PRIZEMONEY: US$3,000,000.

RELATED: So-called expert golf tips for this week


Belgian bomber Thomas Pieters is certainly one of the bigger names in the field this week and will arrive in solid form, too, having posted three consecutive top-15s on both the European and PGA Tours.

The World No.76, who has won four times on the European Tour, has never played this event before. But he will be one of the better ball-strikers to grace the fairways at Corales and should be right amongst it during the weekend rounds.

Pieters hasn’t lifted silverware since claiming the Czech Masters in August, 2019 and must surely becoming desperate to amend that.

RIGHT: Swafford defeated Tyler McCumber here last year to claim his second PGA Tour title. PHOTO: Andy Lyons/Getty Images.

There’s no denying Aaron Baddeley has been in pretty dreadful form since the PGA Tour resumed from its COVID break last June, missing 14 of 18 cuts and failing to register anything better than a share of 23rd.

But Baddeley, who recently turned 40, has played well at Corales in the past and shared seventh place in 2019 when he ranked No.1 in total putts (102).

The American-born Australian is, of course, renowned for his lethal putting stroke. If he can rediscover it this week in the Dominican Republic, he’s every chance of contending.

72-HOLE RECORD: Dominic Bozzelli fired 24-under-par 264 when he won the inaugural event on the Tour in 2016. Hudson Swafford (2020), Graeme McDowell (2019) and Brice Garnett (2018), meanwhile, each shot 18-under 270 when they won this event on the PGA Tour.

PAST AUSSIE WINNERS: No previous Australian winners.

AUSTRALIANS IN THE FIELD: Aaron Baddeley, Greg Chalmers, Rhein Gibson, Lucas Herbert and John Senden.

Round 1: Friday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 1:30am – 4:30am)
Round 2: Saturday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 1:30am – 4:30am)
Round 3: Sunday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 3am – 8am)
Round 4: Monday (Fox Sports 503 LIVE 5:30am – 8am)
*AEDT, check local guides