Whether it's science or art, Bryson DeChambeau is making a name for himself for simply winning.
In his most dominant performance yet, the Southern Methodist University graduate with a physics degree known as the "Mad Scientist" in American circles, DeChambeau turned a one-shot lead into a seven-stroke victory on Sunday.
He closed with an 8-under 64 to set the tournament record and win the Dubai Desert Classic for his first European Tour victory and his fourth title in the past five months.
"Being able to win internationally is something that I've always wanted to do after winning so many times in the States," DeChambeau said.
"And to get it at the Dubai Desert Classic is incredible. I couldn't be more honoured to win this event."
The 25-year-old American wasn't entirely happy with his game, even while building a one-shot lead over Haotong Li going into the final day at Emirates Golf Club.
He had few complaints Sunday, however, opening with three straight birdies to expand his lead to four shots.
No one had a chance after that.
"I was trying to shoot 25 under today and missed it by one, but I'm happy with the results for sure. I was trying to go as deep as possible today," DeChambeau said.
RIGHT: Lucas Herbert finished T7 alongside Jason Scrivener. PHOTO: Andrew Redington/Getty Images.
He finished on 24-under 264, breaking by one shot the 72-hole record Li had set last year.
Matt Wallace of England had a 68 to finish alone in second at 17-under.
Ian Poulter and Paul Waring each had a 64 and tied for third, along with Sergio Garcia (66) and Alvaro Quiros (68).
Aussie duo Jason Scrivener (68) and Lucas Herbert (69) finished in a share of seventh at 15-under.
Li, trying to join Stephen Gallacher as the only back-to-back winners of this event since it began in 1989, stumbled early and was penalised late in his round of 73 to tie for 12th.
He made birdie on the last hole but then received a two-shot penalty when officials determined Li's caddie was on a direct line behind the ball when he took his stance.
That penalty is under the modernised Rules of Golf that took effect this year. Li could have avoided the penalty had he backed off the stroke and retaken his stance.